Return to Headlines

District 86 Students Named National Merit Finalists

We are excited to announce that 23 seniors from District 86 are among the 15,000 individuals from across the country who have been named finalists in the 67th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. In order to qualify as a finalist, students must continue to meet specific requirements and criteria, including having a "record of consistently very high academic performance in all of grades nine through 12 and in any college course work taken."

Below are the names of the students who earned this honor. Each of them will receive a Certificate of Merit and have the chance to win a Merit Scholarship award this spring/summer.

  • Arnima Agrawal (Central)
  • Jackson Brown (Central)
  • Amy Dong (Central)
  • Henry Flaming (Central)
  • Aishvarya Godla (Central)
  • Mitchell Hanson (South)
  • Killian Hughes (Central)
  • Elijah John (South)
  • Jui Khankari (Central)
  • Maximilian Lai (Central)
  • Nathaniel Lee (Central)
  • Sophia Lee (Central)
  • Matthew Leonardson (South)
  • Nicholas Momchev (South)
  • Nadir Muzaffar (Central)
  • Rishabh Ranganathan (Central)
  • Shivani Rao (Central)
  • Shiven Shah (Central)
  • Dmitriy Shvydkoy (Central)
  • Isabella Terry (Central)
  • Rohan Tolani (Central)
  • Emily Wang (Central)
  • Grant Zhang (Central)

You can learn more about the National Merit Scholarship Program by visiting We congratulate our students on this incredible accomplishment.