• The Hinsdale Central Social Studies Department strives to be respected by all school constituencies for its ability to inspire and direct the personal, intellectual, and civic development of its students. The department emphasizes the process of learning, whereby students critically examine issues, evaluate multiple points-of-view, and synthesize perspectives from a variety of disciplines, resulting in the ability to solve problems and make informed decisions.

    The department seeks to promote an understanding of diverse cultures, values, and systems; from this, students will gain awareness of their own values, as well as those of others. The tolerance and diversity that result from this training are balanced by a commitment to exploring and building common values such as democratic participation and freedom of expression.  It is a department that is self-directed, collegial, with high expectations of its students and of itself.

    The department seeks to foster a love of learning through enthusiasm for the social studies disciplines, use of a variety of instructional strategies, and the dynamic of individual personalities committed to a set of shared goals.

  • Staff Directory

    Last Name First Name Email Phone Department Building
    Battaglia Joseph Jbattagl@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8539 Social Studies Central
    Chokshi Arpan Achokshi@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8539 Social Studies Central
    Donaldson Jeanne Jdonalds@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8544 Social Studies Central
    Ferrone Christine Cferrone@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8547 Social Studies Central
    Fratella Erin Efratell@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8558 Social Studies Central
    Freiler Christopher Cfreiler@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8549 Social Studies Central
    Gross Steven Sgross@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8550 Social Studies Central
    Hafner Jennifer Jhafner@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8561 Social Studies Central
    Hipskind Alex Ahipskin@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8551 Social Studies Central
    Korfist Christian Ckorfist@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8553 Social Studies Central
    Lawrence Noah Nlawrenc@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8563 Social Studies Central
    Mitchell Brian Bmitchel@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8542 Social Studies Central
    Naisbitt John Jnaisbit@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8556 Social Studies Central
    Otahal Daniel Dotahal@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8557 Social Studies Central
    Owens Kelly Kowens@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8232 Social Studies Central
    Parsons Kirsten Kparsons@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8391 Social Studies Central
    Patel Sanskruti Spatel@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8552 Social Studies Central
    Persinger Karen Kpersing@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8564 Social Studies Central
    Rahman Sofia Srahman@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8546 Social Studies Central
    Rasavongxay Billson Brasavon@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8540 Social Studies Central
    Russo Robert Rrusso@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8559 Social Studies Central
    Ruth Valerie Vruth@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8560 Social Studies Central
    Waterman Jeffrey Jwaterma@hinsdale86.org 630-468-4547 Social Studies Central
    Wilbur Christopher Cwilbur@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8548 Social Studies Central
    Wilda Whitney Wwilda@hinsdale86.org 630-570-8545 Social Studies Central